2019 Info

  • 2019 Bowness Prize Katrin Koenning 1
  • 2019 Bowness Prize Katrin Koenning 2
  • 2019 Bowness Prize Katrin Koenning 3
  • Atahi, Zia
  • Borland, Polly
  • Tiatia, Angela

Katrin Koenning has won the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize with her work ‘Three’ from the series Lake Mountain (2018). The judging panel – MGA Director, Anouska Phizacklea, Director of Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art, Chris Saines and acclaimed artist, Dr Christian Thompson AO – were unanimous in their decision to award Koenning the $30,000 acquisitive prize for her subtle and quiet image of the bushfire‐ravaged landscape of Lake Mountain a decade after Black Saturday in 2009.

The judges would like to commend the recipients of the Colour Factory Honourable Mentions, Zia Atahi, Polly Borland and Angela Tiatia.

The Bowness Photography Prize has become an important survey of contemporary photographic practice and one of the most prestigious prizes in the country, providing Australian artists with the opportunity to exhibit at one of Australia's leading public galleries. Since 2017 the prize has been acquisitive and the $30,000 cash prize awarded to the winner ensures that it continues to provide a significant boost to an artist’s career. The Sotheby’s Australia People’s Choice Award has been doubled this year from $2,500 to $5,000.

The shortlist for the 2019 Bowness Photography Prize reveals artists’ continued fascination with exploring and pushing the boundaries of the photographic medium, embracing its capacity to explore a diversity of voices and perspectives.

Congratulations to the following finalists:
Rochelle Marie Adam, Riste Andrievski, Jonathan Armstrong, Zia Atahi, Simon Aubor, Sarah Barker, Sofi Basseghi, Greg Bilton, Polly Borland, Anna Carey, Céleste Cebra, Danica Chappell, Peta Clancy, David Collins, Ross Coulter, Emilio Cresciani, Chloe Dann, Gerwyn Davies, Shoufay Derz, Jo Duck, Stephen Dupont, Cherine Fahd, James Farley, George Fetting, Robert Fielding, J Forsyth, Andrea Francolini, Jon Frank, Lee Grant, Mark Harper, Fiona Kemp, Ingvar Kenne, Katrin Koenning, Benjamin Liew, Louis Lim, Ruth Maddison, Koji Makino, Danie Mellor, Anne Moffat, Bill Moseley, Tajette O'Halloran, Sean Paris, Sonia Payes, Clare Rae, Asanka Brendon Ratnayake, Justin Ridler, Simone Rosenbauer, David Rosetzky, Jo Scicluna, Vivian Cooper Smith, Jacqui Stockdale, Nathan Stolz, Angela Tiatia, Lisa Tomasetti, James Tylor, Justine Varga, Lydia Wegner and Adele Wilkes.


Exhibition dates
5 October – 17 November 2019

To keep up to date on all things happening at MGA join our enews

Also keep an eye on our social media channels (see links above) and our dedicated Bowness Photography Prize facebook page

  • 2019 Finalists
  • 2019 People's Choice Award
  • MGA Foundation
  • History
  • Judging panel
The Australian home of photography